A sudden car accident in Cedar Rapids can devastate your life ahead. Such accidents, unfortunately, are not uncommon on the roads of Iowa. Immediately after the crash, you should consider calling the local law enforcement, and if someone is injured, consider calling 911 immediately. Some car accident injuries only show up weeks later, and it is wise to see an injury doctor, even if you think that the impact was minimum. In this post, we are sharing top facts worth knowing after getting injured in Cedar Rapids.
Reporting the accident
No matter the circumstances or what caused the accident, pull over and call the police. This is a vital step, especially if you decide to file a personal injury lawsuit against the driver/party at fault. As per the state laws, all drivers involved in accidents must report the same, if there were injuries, death, or property damage worth $1,500 or more involved. You must file a written report with the Iowa Department of Transportation, within 72 hours from the date of the accident. If a local law enforcement officer arrived at the scene and made a report, you don’t need to file a separate report.
The statute of limitations
You have limited time to pursue a personal injury lawsuit after a car accident in most states. The statute of limitations in Iowa allows two years to bring such injury lawsuits or wrongful claim lawsuits. In the case of the latter, the clock starts counting from the date of death, while in injury lawsuits, the count starts from the date of the accident. If you want to sue for just property damage, you should do so within 5 years, as per the statute of limitations.
The modified “comparative negligence” rule
It is quite possible that you may have had a share of fault in causing the car accident. In such circumstances, the modified comparative negligence rule comes into play in Iowa. Simply put, you cannot file a lawsuit if your share of fault is more than 50%. On the other hand, your awarded compensation will be minimized by your fault percentage. If you were given $50,000 in settlement and were 20% at fault, you will eventually get $40,000.
Contact an attorney
To protect your interests in a car accident case, consider talking to an attorney. There are law firms in Cedar Rapids, which are working exclusively for the injured and disabled, focusing on fair compensation for damages.